In Georgia, misdemeanors are crimes that are punishable by a sentence of up to 12 months in the county jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
Here is a brief list of some of the most common misdemeanors charged in Georgia. Drug and alcohol may result in the suspension of your driver’s license.
- Traffic Offenses (Reckless driving, speeding, etc.)
- Driving while License Suspended
- Theft by Taking
- Theft by Shoplifting
- Theft by Receiving
- Theft by Deception
- Possession of Marijuana less than one ounce
- Family Violence Battery
- Simple Battery
- Family Violence Simple Battery
- Criminal Trespass
- Disorderly Conduct
- Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
- Obstruction of a Law Enforcement Officer